Beauty · Humour · Makeup · Tutorial

Halloween Makeup: For My Fellow Procrastinators.

I purposely left this blog post until the last minute, because I’m yet to see a blog or youtube tutorial that appeals to the procrastinators among us. Yes, they’re a bit crap, yes they’re rushed, but it’s Halloween there’s no real need for precision. If you’re reading this, you’ve probably forgotten all about that party tonight and are frantically searching the internet for last minute costume ideas, but they all use too many products and take too much time.  My looks are by no means polished but they’re quick and can be in 20 minutes or less. Plus, there’s no costume needed! Just wear your normal jeans and T-shirt, or stick on that awful dress  your aunt bought for you, that you’ve been hiding in the back of your wardrobe for a year.

  1. Melted Face
    melting

    Things you need:
    – Glycerine (or cornflour)
    -Dark Liquid Foundation

    This look did not go to plan. I was even considering not uploading it because it didn’t turn out how I wanted to. But when I answered the door to trick or treaters who remarked “What’s up with your face?” with slack-jaws, I knew it had to make the cut.
    I just did my normal make-up, but added a little more blush and used a little pinker eye shadow, for a little more of an innocent Barbie-esque effect. On the melted side of my face, I mixed a liquid foundation darker than my skin tone with 2 tablespoons of glycerine (i think mixing it with a little cornflour would also have a good effect if you don’t have glycerine). I then dripped the mixture over half of my face. Word of caution not to get this in your eyes, because it stings. Alot. I found this out the hard way, but the tears and bloodshot eye made my face look more mangled, so it really depends on how devoted you are to the look.
    To go the extra mile, drag this down your neck, wear clothes you don’t mind getting ruined and put some burn marks over your scorched side.

2. Half an Ice Queen

full-face
My face, featuring Trick or Treating sweets, for the Trick or Treaters… definitely haven’t eaten them all… definitely.

You will need:
Pale Foundation
Eyeliner
Blue eyeshadow
Black Eyeshadow

The only thing that takes less time than this Ice-Queen makeup look, is doing half an Ice queen makeup look. This was originally going to be half devil, half normal makeup but the ‘black’ in my Halloween contouring kit was actually blue… so I kinda had to divert plans. Thanks Freedom!

Anyway, I still like how it turned out! I’ll insert a picture of the Ice-Queen face… now.

half

First off: Wipe off all makeup from half of your face. Then I put the palest foundation I owned on and set it with a white powder that came in my contour kit. I then gave myself a bold extended wing and took it a little under my lower lash line. I filled my eyebrows in with a black ( took it off, and filled in with a lighter hand because it terrified me for all of the wrong reasons.) I ran a blue through the crease of my eyelid, put a frosty white on my lid. I didn’t have a black lipstick so I just filled half of my lips in with a liquid eyeliner, then tapped a light blue eyeshadow over the top.

To take it to the next level, don’t be lazy like me and actually do your whole face. Adversely, it might be cool to do your other half of your face as an angel. This is what I first aimed to do, but my face just isn’t cut out to be an angel (it’s dark like my soul).

3. Cracked Doll

cracked-doll

You will need:

Pale foundation
Pink Lipstick
Blusher
False Eyelashes X2
Black Liquid eyeliner

This look takes a little more time than the others, but it’s still super quick. I got a lot of compliments when I wore it out last.
Do your makeup as normal! But use a paler foundation than you would usually if possible and don’t forget to go over your lips! I used an eyeliner with a fine nib to draw random cracks onto my face. False eyelashes work best to create the doll eye look, but if you don’t have any just use the same liquid eyeliner to draw lower eyelashes. For the top lashes, I used thick dramatic eyelashes. The lower ones were thinner more ‘natural’ eyelashes. I trimmed them shorter too. Side note if you do use eyelashes, go sparingly with the glue. I cannot for the life of me get it all off and it’s been 3 days.

To go the extra mile, wear some creepy bright blue contacts! OR add a bow to your hair. I wore a vintage looking dress that went past my knees with this. But any frilly dress will do!

So, these are a little naff. But with only a few hours left of Halloween, can you afford to be picky? You procrastinated like I did and now we have to deal with it. The most important thing is to have fun eat a lot of sweets, have a drink ot two. Happy Halloween! Don’t leave your costume until last minute next year!

P.S. Honourable outfit mention, for gingers only: Tape some bread to your chest and voila! You’re the ginger bread man. Subtle yet ingenious input from my friend Katy.

Saza
X

 

Leave a Reply

